November 8, 2022




Australian Women Lawyers’ Treasurer, Astrid Haban-Beer, has been recognised as one of 40 most influential Asian-Australians in the inaugural Asian Australian Leadership Summit’s “40 Under 40: Most Influential Asian-Australian Awards”, which recognises the achievements of young Asian-Australian leaders in their fields.

Astrid Haban-Beer has a broad practice incorporating commercial law, public and government law, and criminal law matters. Astrid has always sought to promote human rights through practical advocacy. She has appeared in many significant matters as a barrister including representing the State of Victoria in the Child Abuse Royal Commission as junior counsel and appearing in criminal jury trials both as a prosecutor and as defense counsel.

Astrid has appeared as counsel in trials covering a diverse range of criminal matters covering complex historical sexual assaults involving children, drug importation and trafficking offences, customs, tobacco and firearms matters, as well as terrorism, public interest immunity and national security matters.

Astrid is privileged to appear for parties in challenging matters involving mental impairment and disability law. Astrid has a commitment to pro bono practice, including representing clients in consumer law and criminal matters, and also sat on the board of the St Kilda Legal Service for several years until 2018.

Further and importantly, Astrid has a special interest in criminal matters in The Philippines, including in cases where Australians have been detained. Astrid has been constant advocate for the progress of women in the legal profession, particularly culturally and linguistically diverse women. Astrid has occupied many board and committee roles striving for gender equality and diversity in the profession over the past decade. Notably, Astrid was Convenor of the Victorian Women Lawyers Association in 2010-2011 and is the current Treasurer of Australian Women Lawyers. Astrid is also the Vice-Chair of the Victorian Bar’s Equality and Diversity Committee.”