awl@australianwomenlawyers.com.au www.australianwomenlawyers.com.au ACN 080 044 800

Patron, The Hon Justice Jacqueline Gleeson

AUSTRALIAN WOMEN LAWYERS MEDIA RELEASE

International Women's Day 2024 - Friday, 8 March 2024

In celebration of International Women's Day, AWL wishes to congratulate the women lawyers who have been appointed to judicial office in the past year. Equality and diversity are essential elements at all levels of the legal profession including at the decision-making level. This year's IWD theme "Invest in Women: Accelerate Progress" is a relevant call to the legal profession to implement policies that foster and safeguard equality, ensure equity, close the gender pay gap and celebrate women who work for justice in our world.

We also wish to celebrate the appointment of the Honourable Justice Jacqueline Gleeson of the High Court of Australia as AWL patron.

Since last IWD the following women have been appointed to judicial office:

Federal

- The Hon Chief Justice Debra Mortimer, Chief Justice of the Federal Court of Australia
- The Hon Justice Catherine Button, Federal Court of Australia
- Her Honour Justice Penelope Neskovcin, Federal Court of Australia
- Her Honour Judge Jennifer McArdle, Federal Circuit and Family Court of Australia

Australian Capital Territory

- The Hon Justice Rebecca Christensen, Supreme Court of the Australian Capital Territory
- The Hon Justice Verity McWiliam, Supreme Court of the Australian Capital Territory
- The Hon Judge Louise Taylor, Supreme Court of the Australian Capital Territory
- Magistrate Alexandra Burt, Magistrates' Court of the Australian Capital Territory

Australian Women Lawyers represents:



















New South Wales

- The Hon Justice Kristina Stern, Supreme Court of New South Wales Court of Appeal
- The Hon Justice Sarah Hugget, Supreme Court of New South Wales
- Her Honour Judge Christine Mendes, District Court of New South Wales
- Magistrate Keisha Hopgood, Local Court of New South Wales
- Magistrate Cathy Tawagi, Local Court of New South Wales
- Magistrate Megan Heywood, Local Court of New South Wales

Northern Territory

• Judge Carly Ingles, Local Court of the Northern Territory

Queensland

- The Hon Justice Catherine Muir, Supreme Court of Queensland
- Magistrate Mandy Bowen, Magistrates' Court of Queensland
- Magistrate Mary Buchanan, Magistrates' Court of Queensland
- Magistrate Ainslie Kirkegarrd, Magistrates' Court of Queensland
- Magistrate Leanne Scoines, Magistrates' Court of Queensland
- Magistrate Stephanie Williams, Magistrates' Court of Queensland
- Magistrate Melinda Zerner, Magistrates' Court of Queensland

South Australia

• Her Honour Judge Carmen Matteo, District Court of South Australia

Victoria

- The Hon Justice Patricia Anne Matthews, Supreme Court of Victoria
- The Hon Justice Claire Harris, Supreme Court of Victoria
- The Hon Associate Justice Catherine Flavia Gobbo, Supreme Court of Victoria
- The Hon Associate Justice Caroline Anne Goulden, Supreme Court of Victoria
- Her Honour Judge Diana Manova, County Court of Victoria
- Her Honour Judge Robyn Louise Harper, County Court of Victoria
- Her Honour Judge Suzanne Kirton, County Court of Victoria
- Her Honour Judge Liberty Sanger OAM, County Court of Victoria
- Magistrate Carolyn Howe, Magistrates' Court of Victoria
- Magistrate Allison Vaughan, Magistrates' Court of Victoria
- Coroner Ingrid Giles, Coroners Court of Victoria

Western Australia

- The Hon Justice Fiona Seaward SC, Supreme Court of Western Australia
- The Hon Justice Natalie Whitby, Supreme Court of Western Australia
- Her Honour Judge Felicity Zempilas, District Court of Western Australia
- Her Honour Judge Wendy Hughes, District Court of Western Australia
- Her Honour Judge Laura Christian SC, District Court of Western Australia
- Magistrate Jocelyn Connick, Family Court of Western Australia
- Magistrate Melita Medcalf, Magistrates' Court of Western Australia
- Magistrate Rosemarie Myers, Magistrates' Court of Western Australia
- Magistrate Clare Cullen, Magistrates' Court of Western Australia

We also congratulate the appointment of women lawyers to tribunal, registries, and commissions over the past year.

Australian Women Lawyers Ltd. (**AWL**) is a justice and equity champion advancing women within the legal profession and beyond. It is the peak body representing women lawyers in Australia with constituent bodies in every State and Territory. Established in 1997, the broader objects of AWL include ensuring that Australia's legal system protects and upholds women's rights; advocating for the legal profession to recognise and support the equality and advancement of women within the profession; and providing a professional and social network for women lawyers.

For further information, please contact Astrid Haban-Beer (AWL President: 0402057044) or Renée Bianchi (AWL Vice President: 02 93353050) at awl@australianwomenlawyers.com.au