Australian Women Lawyers 2022
National Conference

Securing a safe, just, and equitable future for women

Online and In-Person tickets available through the above link

Friday 5 August

Welcome Drinks kindly sponsored by Shine Lawyers (in-person event)
Rooftop, College of Law Queensland 140 Ann St, Brisbane

The Hon Mark Dreyfus QC, MP, Attorney-General, Commonwealth of Australia

The Hon. Chief Justice Bowskill, Chief Justice of Queensland Supreme Court


Saturday 6 August

Conference (in-person and online event)
Queensland Law Society, 179 Ann Street, Brisbane
9am – 5:30pm

Welcome to Country
Songwoman Maroochy Barambah

Key Note Speaker
The Honourable Chief Justice Susan Kiefel AC
Yesterday, today and tomorrow – a trend towards equity?

Presentation by The Honourable Former Chief Justice Diana Bryant AO QC to the Honourable Chief Justice Kiefel AC

Panel sessions

How women lawyers can contribute to a safe, just, and equitable future for refugee and migrant women.

President Fleur Kingham, Land Court of Queensland, and the President of the Australian Association of Women Judges
Ms Sadia Azizi, Refugee and Immigration Legal Service (RAILS)
Ms Zahra Aria, Australian Education Union (AEU)
Chair – Leah Marrone, Barrister, AWL President

Addressing sexual harassment in Australian Courts and Parliaments

Professor Gabrielle Appleby, UNSW Law & Justice
Ms Prabha Nandagopal, Director – Australian Human Rights Commission
Chair – Jamie Shine, General Manager ‑ Head Trauma, Shine Lawyers, AWL Secretary

Economic and Financial Security in the Modern Workplace

Jane Needham SC
Dr Kylie Weston-Scheuber, Barrister
Ms Wendy Fauvel, Partner, Herbert Smith Freehills
Ms Anne-Maree Coyne, Senior Consultant, Modus Management
Ms Lesley Chan, Senior Legal Counsel, Investa Property Group
Chair- Holly Lam, Senior Legal Counsel at AMP Capital, AWL Vice President

The value and cost of caring – legal reform to address the disproportionate impact on women
Jane Caro, Walkley award-winning author, social commentator, and broadcaster
Chair, Astrid Haban-Beer, AWL Treasurer

Law and Politics – protection under the law and the effect of lawmaker visions on society
Reproductive justice and protection of human rights
Fiona McLeod SC

First Nations Voices – legislative and constitutional reform to implement the Uluru Statement from the Heart
Professor Megan Davis, UNSW Research Professor of Law

Conference Gala Dinner  (in-person event)
River Room, Customs House – 399 Queen Street, Brisbane

6.30 – 10:30pm

Comedian Steph Tisdell

AWL Award conveyed and Award Winners Speech
AGS AWL Award Sponsor Speech

Sunday 7 August

AWL Conference Brunch is kindly sponsored by the Queensland College of Law (in-person event)
Rooftop, College of Law Queensland 140 Ann St, Brisbane
10:30am – 12noon

Guest speaker Ann-Maree David, Director, College of Law Queensland and former President of AWL


Dr Terry Fitzimmons Managing Director of the Australian Gender Equality Council (AGEC), director of the UQ AIBE Centre for Gender Equality in the Workplace.


AWL Award 

AWL Award – to nominate someone for the AWL Award, sponsored by AGS, which will be presented at the Conference dinner go to our AWL Award Page 



Please note that you must be fully vaccinated or have a valid medical contraindication to attend this function and ensure the safety of all guests. Please do not attend if you are displaying cold and flu symptoms or are not well.

Download the 2022 Speaker Program here.

For information please contact AWL President Leah Marrone on 0438 894 171 or via email –


The Australian Women Lawyers Conference is proudly supported by

Gold Sponsor: Australian Bar Association

AWL Award Sponsor: Australian Government Solicitor

Venue and Brunch Sponsor: College of Law

Welcome Drinks Sponsor: Shine Lawyers

Venue Sponsor: Queensland Law Society

Lunch Sponsor : McCullough Robertson Lawyers
AWL Sponsors

Other sponsors:

Ludlows Legal Regalia (in-kind sponsor)

Red Health (Coffee Cart Sponsor)

Dare Legal Recruitment (Gala Dinner Gin Bar Sponsor)

HRNY (in-kind sponsor)

Thomson Reuters (in-kind sponsor)

Balmer (in-kind sponsor)